The Chicago Debate Society is the parliamentary debate team of the University of Chicago. We compete on the American Parliamentary Debate Association and British Parliamentary Debate circuits and send debaters to tournaments almost every weekend. CDS has consistently met tremendous success on APDA, qualifying teams to Nationals every year and routinely winning Speaker and Team Awards at tournaments. Additionally, we are offering BP opportunities for the first time this year. We welcome prospective members of all experience levels to drop by our practices every Wednesday at 6pm, Thursday at 6pm, and Sunday at 2pm in Cobb. For more information, please browse this website or direct any questions to our friendly officer board.

For donations click here


Novice Tournament

Congratulations to Ellis Soodak and Adi Ram, for winning the UChicago Annual Novice Tournament, as well as to all members who participated

Tufts Results

Congratulations to our only competing team, Jakob Urda and Liya Khan for breaking varsity at the Tufts debate tournament, and to Jakob Urda for earning 7th speaker!

Public Debate

In light of the controversy over Dean Ellison’s letter to the class of 2020, the Chicago Debate Society is proud to cohost and facilitate a public debate on the place of safe spaces in the University. Come join us in Saieh Hall 146 this Tuesday (9/27) for a lively debate, free Hyde Park Food, and a chance to see what our organisation is all about.

In-House Results

Congratulations to Eric Greenberg and Vishal Talasani, the winners of the 2016 CDS In-House Tournament!

Langfan Debate Tournament

Congratulations to Davis and Euirim for winning the 2016 Annual Langfan Constitutional Debate tournament!


Congratulations to Jing Chai, John Lee, Michelle Jiang, and Paul Drexler for representing CDS at the National Championship in New York!